24 Jul 2024


High-efficiency motor pioneer honoured in AEMT awards

Professor David Walters: a lifetime contribution to energy efficiency

Professor David Walters, who pioneered technologies for high-efficiency electric motors when he was technical director at Brook Crompton, has received a lifetime contribution award from the AEMT – the Association of Electric and Mechanical trades – at the organisation’s annual awards ceremony, held recently in Coventry, UK. Walters, now retired, was the driving force behind Brook Crompton’s ground-breaking W series of high-efficiency motors.

The AEMT made the award to Walters “for being a true champion of energy efficiency and electric motor design; someone who was pivotal in many technical developments for industry and indeed the Association throughout his long and illustrious career”. Walters was also influential in producing the AEMT/EASA Rewind Study and the Good Practice Guide to Maintain Motor Efficiency, which forms the backbone for a new international motor repair standard. In 1997, Walters was awarded an OBE for his services to energy efficiency.

Other winners of 2019 AEMT awards included:

•  Product of the year: Fletcher Moorland for its Meerkat wireless condition-monitoring system;

•  Project of the year: Houghton International for a stator rewind and core rebuild of a 26-tonne, 10MVA generator;

•  Service centre of the year: Central Group

•  Supplier of the year: Radwell International

•  Contribution to skills and training: Rotamec

•  Rising star: Callum Broadhurst, a project engineer at Musk Process Services